So…I started a blog.

Good afternoon, My name is Alicia. I am a young 20, almost 21, year old who enjoys life and all its ups and downs. Quite honestly I swing between wanting to live in the moment and enjoy the exact moment God has given me, and being completely stoked for what God has planned for my future. It has been a crazy ride for these almost 21 years. I can’t wait to see what the rest of my life holds for me. I am a Nebraska girl, born and raised. Don’t confuse me with a country girl though. I have only lived in the two cities that Nebraska hosts. I was born in Omaha, my parents divorced when I was young. My mom moved to Lincoln, with me, and my dad stayed in Omaha’s suburbia. The normal custody schedule was enforced. I stayed with mom most the time, and spent every-other weekend with dad, as well as one night a week and a month in the summer.

I have ridden/driven the interstate from Lincoln to Omaha’s suburbia, specifically Bellevue,  so many times I could get you there blindfolded and half asleep. It has given me an interesting perspective on home though. Last Sunday my pastor talked about how we, Christians, should never be comfortable in any place on earth, our true home is in Heaven. One thing that essentially growing up in two different cities has given me , is that it is impossible for me to feel completely at home in either one. Lincoln has things that I like, and Bellevue has things that I like, but neither one is home.

I try to look at life as an adventure, hence the name of this blog, Nebraska Girl Adventures. Some of my adventures are bigger then others. Sometimes getting through a normal day is an adventure. Other times it is getting on a plane and traveling half the world to South East Asia and learning from people there. Both can be full of new and wonderful experiences. I try to be a learner in life, but am not always successful. I talk to much, and tend to think that I am more important then I am. That’s ok. God loves me anyways, and the rest of you will learn to as well :). The intent of this blog is to show my adventures. The good, the hard, the interesting, and the unknown.

My likes:

1.) God

 I didn’t necessarily grow up in your traditional Christian home. I was baptized Catholic, but not until I was three. Shortly after I was baptized into the Catholic church, we switched to a non-denominational  Christian Church when I was four. I did go to a Catholic school though, from 1st-4th grade. I was not Catholic at the time. When I was a freshman in college I got involved in a campus ministry and it truly changed my life. I was “re-baptized” in December 2011. Its been a crazy ride. I will fill you in later. Once we get to know each other better. 

2.) Education

I currently am a student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and spend an obnoxious amount of time in this building. Photo credit to https://www.flickr.com/photos/courthouselover/6706603693/

I currently am going into my senior year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and spend an obnoxious amount of time in this building. Photo credit to https://www.flickr.com/photos/courthouselover/6706603693/

3.) Photography

This was taken at a traditional floating market while I was in South East Asia. It is one of my favorite pictures I have ever taken.

This was taken at a traditional floating market while I was in South East Asia. It is one of my favorite pictures I have ever taken.

Another one from Asia

One benefit of waking up so early. Taken while I was in a boat on the river.

One benefit of waking up so early. Taken while I was in a boat on the river.

 

4.) Traveling

I have a somewhat unhealthy obsession with getting stamps in my Passport. 

From Asia

A traditional diamond mine.

A traditional diamond mine. In Southeast Asia

From Jamaica

I was not excited about doing homework while in Jamaica. I considered sending this picture to my professor to let him in on my struggle. Doing Spanish homework, verses spending time on that beautiful beach behind me. Their was also an amazing strawberry daiquiri waiting for me at the beach-side bar. In Jamaica the legal drinking age is 18, so I enjoyed it while it lasted. 

Go through 072

5.) Crafty Things

I am currently in the middle of a project. I will post pictures when I am finished. I do not claim to be good, but I enjoy it. It’s a good way to keep myself busy out here in Nebraska, without spending all my free time in front of the television. 

6.) My family….they’re big and unconventional, but I love them.

This is one of the only pictures that I have of my siblings and parents. It was taken about a year before my dad past away.

This is one of the only pictures that I have of my siblings and parents. It was taken about a year before my dad passed away.

7.)Food

       I enjoy cooking and trying few recipes. Sometimes they turn out well, sometimes it is a flop. Being true to my Italian roots the one thing that I have never messed up is the family spaghetti recipe. I grew up watching my dad make it, who grew up watching his dad make it, who grew up watching his parents make it, and so on and so forth. It’s a cute little story, and one heck of a good red sauce. Once we all become good friends I might, maybe, decide to share it with you all. 

8.) Outdoors

We went off the beaten path in Colorado and this is what we found

We went off the beaten path in Colorado and this is what we found

Sidenote: Liking the outdoors does not mean I enjoy hiking up mountains and not showering for days. For me it is about enjoying the beauty and general splendor that God has created. I like to look at mountains and watch the sunset. Honestly who doesn’t enjoy a good sunset, especially out here in Nebraska. The flat lands make for the most gorgeous arrangements of colors in the sky. It is truly breathtaking. 

 

There are a few things that you should know about me before we begin this journey together. I am down right awful at spelling and grammar. I honestly don’t know if I would have gotten into college if I had been born before the amazing invention of spell check. I apologize in advance for my terrible grammar and bad spelling. It’s a work in progress. Try and be patient with me.

 

Let’s get ready and start this new adventure.

Alicia 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

