A new twist on an Arnold Palmer

For spring break this past semester my plan was to stay home and spend time with family. It was a crazy first semester with my dads cancer and then passing, so I wanted to slow down a little bit and work on family relationships. But…..the travel bug bit me again and off I was. I decided to compromise with myself. I spent half the time with family and half the time in Kansas City with a few friends. 

Funny at a history museum.

Funny at a history museum.

Kansas City is only a 3 hours away from here, so short enough to be close, but far enough away to feel like a little vacation. Also Kansas City is considered a big city to people who live in the western half of the mid-west. It is only topped by Minneapolis/St. Paul and Chicago, both of which are a full 8 hour drive from Lincoln. 

It was fun time, we went shopping and saw lots of different shows. Kansas City is a very artsy town with a lot of free attractions. They are also very student friendly and offer a lot of student discounts. Kansas City is known for its BBQ, so we had to get our hands on some of that :). 

Dinner before the theater.

Dinner before the theater.

I finally decided to try some Teavana Tea while we were there. I am kind of a tea person. Tea is tasty and there are lots of different flavors that are kept in my cabinet, but it’s not something that I think about drinking most of the time. Out of all tea’s though, Raspberry Iced Tea is my favorite. I spotted some raspberry lemon tea and decided to give it a try. I bought a little bag of it. 

 

 Yesterday when I was rearranging the cabinets I saw that little bag of tea that I bought and decided to make something with it. I also happened to see some lemonade mix packets. Raspberry Lemonade is a things so why can’t there be a twist on an Arnold Palmer and have a Raspberry Tea Lemonade. Also the raspberry tea that I found had lemongrass in it, so lemonade would play well off that flavor. 

First I got my tea steeping. I took 24 oz of water and put it in a pot until it came to a boil. Then I added 12 teaspoons of Raspberry Riot Lemon Mate tea to the water, took it off the heat, and let it sit, covered, for 15 minutes.

Tea Steeping

While the tea was steeping, I added 24 oz of water to a 2 quart sized pitcher. Then I put in the whole packet (which makes a quart of lemonade) of lemonade mix to the pitcher and stirred until it dissolved. 

Phone 7.10.14 149

When the tea was finished steeping I drained it into the lemonade.Phone 7.10.14 151

 

I added ice to cool it down and sliced some lemons to make it pretty. I poured myself a glass, grabbed a snack and a good book. 

Phone 7.10.14 152

 Phone 7.10.14 154

It was a pretty good afternoon and I FINALLY finished the Divergent series. I saw the movie while we were in Kansas City, and ordered the trilogy off Amazon that night. I wouldn’t let myself read it until I was finished with the semester though.  

Phone 7.10.14 153

 

Raspberry Tea Lemonade                                                                Serves 8

  • 48oz of water, divided
  • 12 tsp. Raspberry Riot Lemon Mate Tea
  • 1 packet of sugar-free lemonade mix, enough for 2 quarts
  • 12 Ice cubes
  • Sliced lemons, optional

Directions

  1. Add tea to 24 oz’s of hot water and let steep for 15 minutes
  2. Add 24 oz’s of water to a 2 quart sized pitcher and add lemonade mix
  3. Once tea has steeped, drain it, and then add it to the lemonade mixture.
  4. Add ice after the tea and lemonade have incorporated. 
  5. Optional: add sliced lemons for garnish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

