The Joy of Airport Waiting Rooms

So here we are again. Another airport waiting room and some more overpriced airport food. This time I am in Newark, NJ. For those of you who don’t know, its right outside of New York City. I’m at that moment in my day where its either gonna be a seemingly endless day of flying that started at 4 this morning, complete with a 3 hour layover, or I can make a different choice.

My flight landed early today, which I normally would be super excited about. Normally when my flight lands early that means I don’t have to do the incredibly awkward backpack run through the airport pushing past people as politely as possible and alternating between  “excuse me” and “sorry” like 105 times.

That didn’t happen today. Today I woke up at 4 AM after a nice 3 hour nap. My flight was a bight and early at 6:20 AM with a three hour layover. I am sitting here in this waiting room…still. There is a young family near me and I can hear a father tell his son to be thankful. He should be thankful that it is not worse.  Maybe I should listen to that man’s advice as well. I should be thankful that I am here. Thankful that even though my flight was early, it was also free. I got this flight using my frequent flyer miles. There was a small tax I had to pay but realistically I spent more on my lunch then I did for this flight.

How spoiled do I sound right now. I’m whining about it taking me 7 hours to go 1,300 miles. It used to take months, if not years to do that. There are many people that would give up a lot of things to be able to take 10 days off work and go see their family, on an almost free flight.

My plane did not crash, thank God. I am sitting in a comfy chair in an air conditioned room. There are escalators to take me up and down the stairs and walking escalators to help combat the awkward backpack running problem. I was able to pack multiple pairs of shoes today and had so much stuff some of my belongings had to migrate from my checked suitcase to my carry-on.

So many times I have heard it said “be in the moment” or “stop and smell the roses”. What are the roses in this situation?  I can look at this increasingly populated room as a nusense  with loud and obnoxious kids, or it can be an incredible opportunity to partake in one of my favorite activities…….people watching!!!!!!! Crowded rooms are great for that!

This three our layover can be an opportunity to write a blog post for the first time in weeks. This is the first time I have had to sit in awhile. Two weekends ago I had a couple of  hours to spend with God but that was the last time I had to sit and be still. Here I do not have to worry about the mess on the kitchen table that has been there for far too long. Or the laundry that needed to be done so I could pack for this trip. I don’t have my most recent unfinished craft project staring me down, begging me to finish it. In this waiting room there is no homework to be done, or coworkers to ask me to take their shift. Here I can relax and be still.

So, is it really that bad?

Alicia 🙂

One thought on “The Joy of Airport Waiting Rooms

  1. This was funny ! Living in Nebraska can be quite an experience and one does forget what crowded means!When I landed at Phoenix airport last month and entered the terminal, I wondered where did all these people come from and why!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

